What is the National Flood Insurance Program’s CRS?

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that encourages communities (counties) to go above and beyond the minimum National Flood Insurance Program requirements for floodplain development and activities. Participation in the CRS is rewarded with flood insurance discounts for it’s policy holders.  There are 10 CRS classes with class 10 being non participation and class 1 being the best.

Two of Hawai'i’s four counties participate in the CRS program.  Hawai'i County has been in the program for over 7 years. However, our first and only CRS county for a long time until Hawai'i County joined in 2011 was Maui County. They joined the program over 23 years ago on October 1, 1995.

In addition to making Hawai'i County more flood resilient by participating in CRS, local officials have helped to reduce the cost of flood insurance for their citizens.   Hawai'i County is currently at a class 8, which provides up to 10% savings on flood insurance premiums. 

Last year Maui County worked closely with ISO on their CRS re-certification. On May 1, 2018, the county successfully lowered their class rating from a class 8 to a class 7, which resulted in increased discounts from 10% to 15% on flood insurance premiums for structures in high risk flood zones. Based on Maui County’s policy count of 12,360 policies as of 11/30/18, FEMA estimates that a class 7 rating saves the county approximately $1 million dollars in premiums ($81/policy).

Congratulations Maui County !!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: