The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is a voluntary program.  Communities (i.e., local governments) decide to participate in the NFIP, which enables property owners to purchase insurance protection against losses from flooding. Specifically, communities that agree to manage special flood hazard areas (SFHA) by adopting minimum regulatory standards set forth in Title 44 of the Code of Federal Regulation §60.3

If a community chooses not to participate in the NFIP, property owners in that jurisdiction are not able to purchase federally backed flood insurance. In addition, federal grants, loans, disaster assistance and federal mortgage insurance are unavailable for the acquisition or construction of structures in the floodplain shown on FEMA’s Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM).

Fortunately, all four of Hawai'i’s counties are participating communities in the NFIP and have adopted floodplain development regulations consistent with 44CFR§60.3. In fact, all four counties have implemented higher regulatory standards (i.e. freeboard, cumulative substantial improvement provisions, etc.) in their local ordinances and participate in CRS program

It’s important for property owners planning on building in or near a SFHA to understand the county’s floodplain development regulations and to discuss your plans with your county floodplain manager.

The table below identifies each county’s floodplain manager, contact information, and links to their respective county’s floodplain development regulations and websites:

County Floodplain
Phone NumberCounty Floodplain
Hawai'i County
Robyn Matsumoto, P.E.
808-961-8327 HCC Chapter 27OPEN
City and County Honolulu
Mario Siu-Li, CFM
808-768-8098 ROH Chapter 21A OPEN
Kauaʻi County
DPW Engineering Division
808-241-4993 KCC Chapter 15 OPEN
Maui County (Interim)
Carolyn Cortez, CFM
808-270-7813 MCC Chapter 19.62 OPEN